Well, that’s a roundabout way to say “read more”

I’ve been trying really hard to get back in touch with my creative side. I really miss art and crafts and having an imagination that reaches beyond imagining myself either vastly wealthy or living in a dumpster. They say to fake it until you make it, so I’m trying to fake myself into believing I’m still an artistic person.

I’m just a bit starved for ideas, at the moment. And motivation, if I’m honest. Time is a precious commodity and I can’t spare too much on frivolous things like enjoyment.

Writer’s block is a nightmare. Writing is the only creative thing I really have time for, because I can do it literally anywhere I have access to paper and a writing implement. Which is everywhere, because I carry a notebook and pen with me. But nothing comes.

Don’t you just hate that?

I don’t even know what to blog about. I seriously considered doing another diet post, because I don’t know what else to say (that isn’t just… horribly depressing). That’s how deep this writer’s block is going.

On the bright side, with all that time spent not creating things myself, I’ve been reading things other people have created! So, here are a couple books you should pick up, if you like good stories.

MKPI Odd Case Files: The Cow and the Coven, MKPI Odd Case Files: The Corpse and the Crossroads, MKPI Odd Case Files: The Boko and the Bayou by Allen T. St. Clair

You all probably recognize Allen’s name from being my best blog buddy and one of my biggest and most vocal supporters. I promote his blog a lot, because he’s funny and posts recipes and is just a generally awesome bish.

He’s also a really great paranormal mystery writer. I got sucked into the “MKPI Odd Case Files” series and I regret nothing. I’m a slow reader. I’m easily distracted, so I usually read a chapter of a book per day. MKPI are the kind of books that I can blow through five chapters on the trolley on my way to school and almost miss my station because I’m so engrossed in my reading.

FYI: Allen and his friend Cynthia also have a funny podcast they do each week. I listen to it on Tuesday between classes and other students almost always look at me like I’m crazy for laughing in the corner. Check it out!

Jacob Michaels Is Tired and Jacob Michaels Is Not Crazy by Chase Connor

I credit “Jacob Michaels Is Tired” with being the book that got me back into reading after a very long slump of just not feeling it (all that required school reading saps the will right out of me). It’s such a fun, cute, and light-hearted story. I’m a sucker for paranormal gay romances, I guess. Plus, Chase is an exceptional writer.

The Gravity of Nothing by Chase Connor

I’m not putting this with Chase’s other books, because it’s not in the same genre. It’s still LGBT, but it’s a much heavier, much darker story. I’ll admit, he gave me an advanced copy in early December and I didn’t finish it until last month because I couldn’t handle some of the parts in it. It’s the type of book that I didn’t really want to put down, but knew for my own emotional well-being I needed to.

“The Gravity of Nothing” deals with a lot of heavy topics that hit home for me, like depression, anxiety, PTSD, sexual assault, and resistance to accepting the help offered. I cried openly at school while reading this. I intend to read it again so I can give it a proper review.

In the mean time, if you’re not triggered by any of the above, I cannot recommend this book enough. Chase presented these serious issues with well researched respect and raw, relatable emotion. Break out the tissues, kids.

Marjorie Diaz’s Unfortunate Introduction to Magical High Society by Desdemona Wren

Full disclosure: I haven’t actually read this, yet. It’s in my Kindle queue. But, I will jump with voracious excitement at any book that has not only asexual representation, but an asexual protagonist. The synopsis on Amazon sounds awesome, so I’m excited to see where this one takes me.

I hope you all find something on this list to strike your fancy. I have had conversations with all these writers and honestly they’re wonderful and talented people. They deserve to have their work supported.

In the meantime, I’ll just be over here in the corner, trying to find my mojo.

I love you all.


Let’s keep in touch! Follow me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Pinterest!

Are you awesome? Do you like awesome things? Then stop by my shop to pick up a t-shirt or mug and let the world know about your unapologetically authentic awesomeness!

Like my content? Consider buying me a coffee. Less time worrying about paying my bills means more time creating content.

One thought on “Well, that’s a roundabout way to say “read more”

Comments are closed.