Happy Thanksgiving

Isn’t it convenient that Thanksgiving is always on a Thursday, and I occasionally post in a category called Thankful Thursday? It wasn’t even planned.

Like most Americans, I’m spending the day watching TV and gorging on turkey, mashed potatoes, and gravy (and rolls and deviled eggs, which are the unsung heroes of Thanksgiving).

Like a handful of Americans (and most Americans say they’re doing), I’m also reflecting on what I have to be thankful for this year. It’s been a tough year (and I’m sure we all know why), but there’s still much to be thankful for.

I’m thankful first and foremost for the incredible support network of friends and family I have.

My parents have both provided me with desperately needed financial support–I have my mother to thank for easing my credit card debt and my father to thank for staving off student loans for another semester.

Pup has provided me incredible emotional support and has been my constant companion for outings and adventures. And midnight donut runs to North County, because priorities.

My surrogate little sister in Colorado has been a great shoulder during especially stressful times in my life, offers amazing advice, and helps to keep me grounded when I’m losing it.

Not to mention the rest of my friends, online and in-person, who have been so amazing this year. I’d be lost without any one of them.

I’m thankful for the opportunities I’ve been afforded in my life.

Even though I was laid off, working at my old job taught me a lot about office life and helped me develop skills I otherwise wouldn’t have, both professionally and socially. I met some great people working there and learned a little about myself, as well. And, if nothing else, it’s three years and a few references I can put on my resume.

I’m extremely fortunate to be able to attend school. Even if I struggle, I know this will benefit me in the long run. Not everyone has this opportunity for so many reasons and I’m grateful that I have this opportunity,

I’m thankful for the tireless efforts of those trying to make this world a better place.

While on the surface, the troubles going on in the world may not seem like something to be thankful for, it’s important to keep our focus on the heroes of these situations. Activists and protesters devote time, energy, and money (and, sadly, occasionally risk their lives) to fight against those who would want to strip us of our rights and dignities. I’m grateful for their sacrifices.

That includes those serving in the military who put their lives on the line to keep us safe. While our government may utilize them poorly or in ways with which I may not agree, I think it’s still important to acknowledge the sacrifices made by those who have served and are currently serving in all branches of the military.

I’m thankful to be alive.

This year, so many people have lost their lives in senseless acts of violence, natural disasters, and to their own hands. Recently, a dear friend of mine lost a friend in one of those awful situations and I can’t imagine going through that myself or those I care about going through that because of me.

This year has been nothing if not a reminder of how short life can be and I’m grateful for every day I have.

And finally, I’m thankful for all of you.

I thought about including all of you in my list of friends, but you deserve your own spot on the list all your own. I blog because I want to connect with and meet people. I could still write this blog if no one ever read it, but it’s that connection I find in each and every one of you that makes it worth it.

So thank you. Thank all of you, so much, just for being here with me.

I love you all.


Let’s keep in touch! Follow me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Pinterest!

Like my content? Consider buying me a coffee. Less time worrying about paying my bills means more time creating content.