Watch-This Wednesday: Cartoons

Like most millennials, I spend a lot of time trying to relive my childhood instead of thinking about my bleak present and bleaker future. These days, it’s easy to pretend I’m still a kid with so many great cartoons.

Here are some of my animated TV faves.

  • Steven Universe – I don’t think it’s possible to be a queer millennial and not love Steven Universe. The representation on this show is mind-blowing; all different body types and colors, sexualities, gender identities (nonbinary representation whaaa???). It delivers a great message about acceptance and respecting yourself and others. It deals with pretty tough subject matter–things other so-called “kid’s shows” might shy away from–and does so in a way that resonates without seeming like it would be over younger viewers’ heads. And it still manages to be fun and uplifting! I just love this show so much!
  • Summer Camp Island – This is a relatively new show (it premiered on Cartoon Network this past July) and admittedly I haven’t watched a lot of it because it airs at a time I’m just busy. But, what I’ve seen, I’ve liked. Now that I have DVR I intend to record it so I can watch it. It looks cute and I love any cartoon that features witches.
  • Bob’s Burgers – It’s not a perfect show, but it’s leaps and bounds beyond competing shows (*cough*FamilyGuyisgarbage*cough*). Tina is a relatable teenage girl; awkward and a little ridiculous, without becoming a caricature or the butt of the joke. Netflix pulling it is still one of the worst things that ever happened to me.
  • The Simpsons – A classic. It’s been on for thirty seasons and if you don’t at least have a general knowledge of the show by now, I’m not sure what I can possibly tell you. There’s a reason it’s lasted almost as long as I’ve been alive.
  • Teen Titans Go! – TTG is my problematic fave. I’m never quite sure if I love this show or hate this show, but it gets Pup’s stamp of approval. He convinced me to watch it (read: would watch it at my place and I rarely paid enough attention to care) and it grew on me. It’s a stupid-funny show (as in the humor is stupid; not that it’s so funny it’s stupid). It’s the kind of show that I find relaxing when I’m busy or stressed or otherwise overwhelmed. I can just sit back, laugh, and not have to think too much. In fact, I encourage you not to think when watching this show, because the humor can be obnoxiously offensive. But I love Raven, so… *shrugs*

Hopefully, if you’re a cartoon watcher, you find something on that list you might like. If you’re not a cartoon watcher… well… next week I’m doing YouTube channels, so maybe that will be more your speed? I don’t know what to tell you, Sheila. I can’t please everyone.

I love you all.


Let’s keep in touch! Follow me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Pinterest!

Are you awesome? Do you like awesome things? Then stop by my shop to pick up a t-shirt or mug and let the world know about your unapologetically authentic awesomeness!

Like my content? Consider buying me a coffee. Less time worrying about paying my bills means more time creating content.